Fridays from Home

Succulents

So, ever since we moved into our house in June, I’ve been trying to decide what to do with the greenhouse window that sits above my kitchen sink.  Until now, it has been a gathering place for pitchers, leftover herbs that were on my patio until it got too cold, old batteries and other odds and ends that we don’t know what to do with.  But the sun that’s been streaming through our house of late has inspired me to put this space to better use.

If you’re an avid Internet-researcher or catalog subscriber like I am, it’s virtually impossible that you haven’t noticed that terrariums and succulents are everywhere.  While I really love the look of this terrarium and orchid from Restoration Hardware, at nearly $300 it is a little too much for something that I’ll likely kill.

So I kept searching and found this fun idea from West Elm that I was pretty sure I could pull off without too much expense and keep alive without too much effort.

I found my 3 different succulents and pots at Ikea and only spent $15 for everything put together.  These plants are easy to find at most home improvement stores and gardening centers if you don’t have an Ikea near you.  You can use just about anything to plant them in too as long as you put a good layer of gravel or stones in the bottom to keep the moisture away from the roots.

When it came to planting, I actually found everything I needed around the house.  I used some leftover gravel from my son’s fish tank in the bottom of each planter, then a layer of potting soil and to top it all off, I actually scavenged some moss from my backyard to add a little pop of green!  My garden frog has been keeping this moss nice and safe throughout the winter.

Now my window is earning its name as a ‘greenhouse’ and is actually adding a little something to the decor.  For a very easy and inexpensive project, I think they turned out pretty well and I can enjoy them every day.

This entry was published on March 23, 2012 at 8:00 am. It’s filed under Crafts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Succulents

  1. Pingback: Terrific Terrariums | Things to Cherish

Leave a Reply

