Fridays from Home

Caramelized Banana ‘Ice Cream’

So, I kept hearing about this amazing recipe for “banana ice cream” where you literally just freeze bananas and then throw them into a food processor.  Everyone in our family likes bananas, and we’re always looking for healthy alternatives so I figured I’d look into it.

The most comprehensive instructions that I could find can be found here on theKitchn.  I generally trust most of the recipes that I’ve found there, so it seemed legit.  But just frozen bananas?  I felt like this was just crying out for something to spice it up.  I don’t think I’ve ever, in my entire life served anyone just one ingredient before.  So I got to thinking.  What goes well with bananas?

  1. Peanut butter – hubs is not a fan and it’s not recommended for little ones
  2. Honey – sure, this would sweeten it a little, but to me honey just doesn’t seem right with ice cream
  3. Caramel – hmmmm….caramelized bananas ARE delicious, but if I made a caramel it would harden too much in the freezer.  What if we used caramel ice cream topping???

So, here it goes.

Caramelized Banana “Ice Cream”

Ingredients

  • 3 ripe bananas (the riper, the better)
  • 2 Tablespoons Caramel Ice Cream Topping or Syrup (you could substitute with hot fudge or butterscotch – either would be delicious)
  • 1 pinch of salt (will bring out the sweetness in the bananas and caramel)

Directions

  • Peel and slice the bananas, feed a slice or two to your kitchen helpers to make sure they’re ripe enough

  • Place the slices in a freezer safe dish (I used the same dish that I will store the ice cream in later) and freeze for at least 2 hours

  • Put the frozen banana slices into a food processor and process on high until it becomes creamy

  • Add the salt and caramel sauce and pulse until it’s incorporated

Looks pretty yummy, right?

  • At this point you can eat it, but it will be the consistency of soft-serve ice cream.  For a more ‘scoopable’ texture, put the ice cream in a container and freeze until you’re ready to enjoy

Is this the same as gelato or full-fat ice cream?  No, but it is still a satisfying substitution that is incredibly simple to make. Who doesn’t end up with overripe bananas every so often?  Top this with just about anything.  My favorites are hot fudge and marshmallow fluff!

This entry was published on March 24, 2012 at 8:00 am. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

