Fridays from Home

Grandmother’s fruit cobbler

I’ve told you before how I feel about pie. Well here’s another dessert that I have strong opinions about – cobbler.  Cobbler is in no way, shape or form a PIE!  It does not have a crust or a crumble, nor should it ever be baked in anything that resembles a pie plate (Yes, it is called a “plate” not a “pan”…don’t get me started).  Cobbler IS made of a golden, ooey, gooey batter mixed with sweet fruit and topped with a scoop of melting, vanilla ice cream….period.  Anything else is either a pie, a brown betty, a crisp, or any variation of some other dessert.

My grandmother was an absolutely amazing woman who lived to be 99.5 years of age, maybe I’ll tell you more about her someday.  There are a few recipes that I inherited from her, none of which had actual measurements.  She once told me that you’d know how much sage to put in her cornbread dressing by tasting it.  Considering it’s filled with raw eggs, I’ve never been brave enough to taste it before stuffing it in the bird, so I don’t know if I’ve ever gotten it quite right.  Well, this cobbler recipe is one that I’ve mastered, and I’m very happy to share it with you.

Grandmother’s Fruit Cobbler

Ingredients

Batter:

  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 pinch salt

Fruit:

  • 2 cups fruit (fresh, canned, frozen…your choice)
  • 1 Tablespoon flour

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Put butter in a small casserole or baking dish and put it in the hot oven until the butter melts
  3. Mix together the other batter ingredients, and pour them into the hot dish
  4. Bring the fruit and flour into a sauce pan and heat until the fruit renders its juice and bubbles

    Fruit has rendered its juices and is bubbling

  5. Pour fruit into the batter (no need to stir, but you can mix it a little)

    Ready for the oven

  6. Bake until the top is a uniform brown and you don’t see any raw batter poking through  (this could be anywhere from 30-45 minutes depending on the depth of your dish)

    Perfection

Serve warm with a generous scoop of good vanilla ice cream – you’ll never confuse cobbler and pie again!

This entry was published on March 30, 2012 at 4:14 pm. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Grandmother’s fruit cobbler

  1. I’ve never confused pie with cobbler, but I will confess to having blurred the line between crisps and cobblers before. Thanks for sharing the recipe – it looks wonderful!
    Terry

  2. Grandmothers always know best and this appears to have been proved here – it looks wonderful.

    • You can try it with just about any fruit (blueberries and peaches are my favorite). Fresh is best, but you can barely tell the difference if you use frozen or canned. I hope you enjoy it.

  3. Megan Rhodes on said:

    Katie, this is bringing back great memories of 8 Colliston road. I love your cobbler. Maybe I’ll try it with mangoes here in Uganda!

Leave a Reply

