Fridays from Home

Garden surprise!

I have been monitoring a suspicious plant growing in tandem with a row of stonecrop in my front yard.  At first I thought it was a weed, but then it started to look a little familiar so I left it alone.  When I checked it out this morning, I could hardly believe it when I found this:

Recognize it?  Look closer.

It’s a peony!  I have no idea where it came from, it definitely wasn’t there last year.  Weird, right?  It even has a great big bud on it.  I’ll transplant it into the back yard with its friends in the fall, but for now I’m just going to enjoy this little gift.

This entry was published on April 15, 2012 at 3:03 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Garden surprise!

  1. Katie on said:

    My favourite-lucky girl!!

Leave a Reply

