Fridays from Home

Boys, Baseball and Birthdays

I’m the first to admit when I have a problem, and I’ll tell you right now that I have an unhealthy obsession with birthdays.  The fact that my children are at an age where they get irrationally excited about birthdays only feeds my mania.  In fact, in our house we could probably do away with calendars altogether because we actually measure our year by who’s birthday is next.  I can’t help it, they are really special days and are a lot of fun.

Last year was our first birthday season (our boys’ are both in the summer, just shy of 2 months apart) in our new house so we did 2 big blowouts with themes, favors, tons of food, presents, etc.  This year we decided to do just one big party in the middle of summer for both of them (I’m sure that I will write a post on that later, it’s a superhero theme!).  Still, I could not let my little guy’s big day go by without some celebration, so we decided to take him to his very first White Sox game!

If you are brave enough to attend a major sporting event with a 2 year-old and a 3 year-old, I definitely recommend taking grandparents along.  Not only are they great for walking antsy kids around, but they also have a tendency to buy every confection imaginable, and on a birthday that’s OK.  Even though the Sox didn’t come out on top, the boys got their fill of fireworks, ice cream and popcorn, and our oldest even got to run the bases after the game!  Top that with presents and cake, and we had an incredibly happy and excited little boy.  Even without the big party, it was a birthday success!

Heading home

This entry was published on June 15, 2012 at 2:51 pm. It’s filed under Activities, General Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

