Fridays from Home

Antoinette’s Apple Cake

It makes me smile when I see little pieces of myself come out in my kids.  My oldest has definitely inherited my taste for sweets.  He loves pies, cobblers, ice cream and just about anything with fruit.  Yesterday, he randomly asked me to make an apple cake, and so today I turned that request into a project for us to do together.  Using a plastic knife, he took his duty of dicing apple slices very seriously, and he did a pretty fantastic job.

This apple cake recipe came into my possession via my mom, who received it from our next-door neighbor, Antoinette Corey, probably about 30 years ago.  It’s simple, easy to make and really, really good.  The glaze is  an easy caramel sauce recipe that I’ve also used for caramel apples.

I have not seen the Coreys in many years, but I think of them every time I make this wonderful cake.  Wherever you are, Antoinette, thank you!

I have always tried to make this in my incredibly elaborate bundt pan, but despite all of my oiling and greasing it ended up looking like this:

Not good

Someone gave me the tip to use this Pam for baking, and it came out beautifully.

Antoinette’s Apple Cake

Ingredients

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2.5 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 3 cups chopped apples

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl
  2. Bake in either a rectangular cake pan or a bundt pan at 350 degrees for about 75 minutes

Glaze

Ingredients

  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 tablespoon light Karo syrup

Directions

  1. Mix all ingredients (except for vanilla) and cook over low simmer for 15 minutes.
  2. Add vanilla
  3. Pour over cake
This entry was published on June 23, 2012 at 7:24 pm. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

