Fridays from Home

Slow Cooker Pork Loin with Sweet Potato & Apple Puree

I apologize for being absent…I really do.  The only excuse that I have is that I recently got a new job and I am no longer home on Fridays.  Ironic, right?  I guess I’ll just need to be more creative.

Being in the office 5 days per week is making it more difficult to spend time in the kitchen.  I am finding myself turning to convenience foods and my old friend, Mrs. Crock Pot.  Here is what I whipped up today at 7 am and it turned out amazing!  Seriously, you need to make this.

Slow Cooker Pork Loin with Sweet Potato & Apple Puree

Ingredients

  • 1 pork loin (enough for your family)
  • 2 large, tart apples, peeled, cored and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/2 large, sweet onion, chopped
  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • Salt to taste
  • 3 tablespoons butter

Directions

  1. Spread vegetables and apples in the bottom of your slow cooker, sprinkle with pumpkin pie spice
  2. Lay pork loin over the vegetables, season with salt
  3. Cover and turn on slow cooker.  Cook eight hours on low, or 4 hours on high
  4. Remove pork, and set aside to cook slightly
  5. Put the vegetables and apples into a blender, reserving as much liquid as possible in the bottom of the slow cooker
  6. Blend potato/apple mixture until smooth.  Add butter and continue to blend
  7. Slice pork and return to the slow cooker and pan juices until ready to serve
This entry was published on October 16, 2012 at 6:29 pm. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Pork Loin with Sweet Potato & Apple Puree

  1. Mmm … I bet the sweet potato works well. Apple and pork always does. Have you considered just a touch of fresh sage?

  2. Pingback: Simply Sophisticated Cooking

  3. Although I switched the sweet potatoes with regular baking potatoes, this recipe was a huge hit with my family. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

