Fridays from Home

Baked Brioche French Toast

Happy holidays!  We have survived another Christmas and I think that the boys must have been very good this year because our house could now double as a toy store.  As I wade through the aftermath, I thought I would share one of the many recipes that I used this year.

This is a great breakfast for Christmas morning because all of the work is done the day before.  It is really like a breakfast bread pudding, but calling it French toast sounds less like eating dessert first thing in the morning.  I developed this from a variation of something I saw on Martha Stewart online a few years ago.  I like the addition of orange rind with the custard though, it makes it resemble my very favorite dessert – Grand Marnier Souffle!

Baked Brioche French Toast

Ingredients

  • 1 loaf brioche or other eggy, dense bread, cut into thick slices
  • 6 eggs, beaten
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons grated orange zest

Directions

  1. In a large, glass baking dish combine all ingredients except for bread.  One piece at a time, dip the bread into the mixture and arrange, overlapping, in two rows.
  2. Cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate over night.
  3. Remove from refrigerator about 20-30 minutes before baking.  Bake at 350 until golden and all of the custard is set (35-45 minutes).  Serve with just a little real maple syrup.

 

This entry was published on December 29, 2012 at 2:31 pm. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Baked Brioche French Toast

  1. This french toast looks so amazing! I really want to have some at this exact moment. Perfect Sunday breakfast :).

    I nominated your blog for a Liebster Award! It promotes small blogs and gives them name recognition in the larger community.

    Here are the details:
    http://ohsodecadent.wordpress.com/2012/12/30/liebster-award/

    I hope you accept my nomination and I look forward to seeing other delicious recipes from you in the future :).

Leave a Reply

