Fridays from Home

Cola Baked Ham

My family is probably reading this right now with their jaws all hanging on the floor because I have never liked ham.  I like country ham for breakfast, prosciutto and pretty much every other pig product, but I have always had a hard time with baked ham.  Honestly, I think it’s the overly salted, processed flavor that most commercially-bought hams have.  But my husband and sons love it so when I saw the crazy sale on spiral cut hams at the store today, I had to pick one up.

Many years ago I heard about a baked ham recipe using Coke, and I thought that if I were to ever cook one, that’s what I’d do.  This recipe is basically a compilation of everything I could find on the Internet about a cola-based method.  The result is a deliciously salty-sweet, crispy and satisfying dinner that makes excellent sandwiches as well.  By boiling the ham in cola before baking, I think it removes the taste of the artificially smoky brine that has typically turned me off of ham in the past.  I think you’ll like it!

Cola Baked Ham

Ingredients

  • One 8-10 pound spiral cut ham
  • 1 2 liter bottle of cola
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

Directions

  1. Place the ham in a large stock pot or Dutch oven and pour the cola over.  Partially cover the pot and bring to a boil.  Turn heat down and simmer for about 1 hour.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Remove ham from pot and place in a roasting pan, cut side down.  Mix together brown sugar and mustard and enough of the cooking liquid to create a paste.  Pour paste over the ham, and pour some more of the cooking liquid into the bottom of the pan.
  3. Bake until crust is hardened and golden, about 45 minutes.  Allow ham to cool before serving.
This entry was published on December 30, 2012 at 1:28 pm. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

